Northants prepares to join the unitary authority club

The shift towards unitary authorities in England’s local government continues next month when two new bodies replace eight smaller borough and district councils in Northamptonshire.

North Northamptonshire Council takes over the services previously delivered by Corby Borough Council, East Northamptonshire Council, Kettering Borough Council, and the Borough Council of Wellingborough. 

West Northamptonshire unitary council will serve the areas of Daventry District, Northampton and South Northants.  The unitary councils will be responsible for all public services that are currently split between the district and borough councils and the county council. The changes will also create a new Children’s Service Trust acting across the two new unitary councils to provide services for children and young people.

Councillor Ian McCord, Leader for the west Shadow Authority, said: “There are significant savings to be made by having two administrations for the county instead of eight. Not only that, it will make life easier for residents as they can go to one authority for all of their needs and won’t have to explain themselves several times over.”

Councillor Russell Roberts, Leader of the North Shadow Authority, said: “The new Council will focus on continuing to provide services that make a real difference to the lives of people living locally. We believe that the changes being made will be positive and will provide a platform on which to improve public services in the future and enhance the quality of life of those who make this area their home.”

Also Read